Skip to Main Content

County Board of Education Elects Greg Geeting as President

Trustee Jacquelyn Levy Elected Vice President

Greg Geeting portrait

Area 1 Trustee Greg Geeting will serve as Board President.

New officers were elected at the July 17, 2012, meeting of the Sacramento County Board of Education.

The Board elected Trustee Greg Geeting, Area 1, to serve as Board President. He is retired from state service, having served as Interim Director of the Charter Schools Division, California Department of Education, at the time of retirement. He previously served as Executive Director with the California State Board of Education.

President Geeting succeeds outgoing 2011-12 Board President Brian Cooley, who represented Area 5 and did not seek reelection to the Board of Education.

Trustee Jacquelyn Levy, Area 3, was elected Board Vice President. She is retired after 35 years in education, most recently serving as principal at Cordova High School in the Folsom Cordova Unified School District.

The offices of Board President and Vice President are held for one year. Trustees are elected for terms of four years. Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools David W. Gordon serves as Secretary to the Board of Education. Taking the oath of office for terms that will expire in 2016 were newly elected Trustee Penny Schwinn, Area 5, and incumbents Eleanor L. Brown, Ed.D., Area 4; John C. Scribner, Area 6; and Harold Fong, Area 7.

The Board of Education voted to continue holding its regular meetings on the first and third Tuesdays of each month, with each meeting having a scheduled start time of 6:30 p.m.

The Sacramento County Board of Education works with the County Superintendent to provide numerous instructional programs, teacher/administrator training, and administrative services through the Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE). It hears student expulsion and student interdistrict transfer appeals and serves as the County Committee on School District Organization to hear transfers of territory and election issues.

Jacquelyn Levy portrait

Area 3 Trustee Jacquelyn ​Levy will serve as Board Vice President.

Dave Gordon, Harold Fong, Eleanor Brown, Penny Schwinn, and John Scribner

Superintendent Gordon administers the oath of office to (L-R): Harol​d Fong, Eleanor Brown, Penny Schwinn, and John Scribner.