Skip to Main Content

Sacramento County Schools Named CA Distinguished Schools

484 Schools across California Recognized by State Board of Education


Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools David W. Gordon is announcing that 17 exemplary Sacramento County public elementary schools were selected as 2010 California Distinguished Schools by the State Board of Education.

"The award recognizes schools that are considered to be some of the state's most exemplary public schools that best represent outstanding and quality educational programs," said Superintendent Gordon. "All of these schools, their students, parents and guardians and communities are to be commended for making their schools truly excellent models of education."

Sacramento County Schools Named California Distinguished Schools

Center Joint Unified School District

    • Oak Hill Elementary

Elk Grove Unified School District

    • Carroll Elementary
    • Elitha Donner Elementary
    • Elliott Ranch Elementary

Folsom Cordova Unified School District

    • Sandra J. Gallardo Elementary

Galt Joint Elementary School District

    • Lake Canyon Elementary

Natomas Unified School District

    • Witter Ranch Elementary

River Delta Unified School District

    • Bates Elementary

Sacramento City Unified School District

    • Aspire Capitol Heights Academy
    • David Lubin Elementary
    • Matsuyama Elementary
    • St. HOPE Public School 7

San Juan Unified School District

    • Cameron Ranch Elementary
    • Carriage Drive Elementary
    • Del Paso Manor Elementary
    • Grand Oaks Elementary
    • Green Oaks Fundamental Elementary

"I had the privilege to call all the winning schools and personally shared the good news with each principal," State Superintendent of Public Instruction Jack O'Connell said in a statement. "These dedicated educators I spoke to clearly share a school-wide vision of excellence where every student can succeed and achieve at the very highest levels of performance."

Schools were identified for eligibility on the basis of their Academic Performance Index (API) and Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) results, which are the state and federal accountability models, respectively. Each applicant was required to describe two signature practices that have led to an increase in student achievement and a narrowing of the achievement gap. Applicants were then selected to receive a thorough site visit to validate the signature practices.

All applicants underwent a stringent selection process conducted by the California Department of Education with the help of many educators from across the state.

The 2010 California Distinguished Schools will be honored during an awards ceremony and dinner at the Disneyland Hotel in Anaheim on June 4, 2010. More information about the California Distinguished Schools program is available online.