Skip to Main Content

Board Trustees Elected, New Officers Chosen for 2000–01

Elinor Hickey to Be President, Richard Simpson Vice President

Wide shots of Board room during oath of office

County Superintendent of Schools Dr. David P. Meaney (top right) administered the oath of office to the Trustees before a crowd of more than 100 guests.

Trustees were sworn in and officers selected at the July 5 meeting of the Sacramento County Board of Education.

Elected President was Elinor L. Hickey, now in her third term of office as Area 1 Trustee. Hickey, a resident of East Sacramento, is a retired teacher and namesake of the Communication Arts Center at Sacramento High School. Prior to being elected to the Sacramento County Board of Education, she served as a Board member of the Sacramento City Unified School District. Hickey was originally elected to the Board in 1990. Her current term expires in June 2002.

Richard "Rick" Simpson, newly elected Vice President, is a Sacramento resident. Simpson has served as Area 3 Trustee since 1990. He has served as Board President in 1992-93 and 1997-98, as well as Board Vice President in 1991-92 and 1996-97. His current term as Trustee expires in June 2002. Simpson serves as Policy Director with the Office of California State Speaker Robert Hertzberg.

Taking oaths of office for the first time were newly elected Area 5 Trustee Brian Cooley (a Rancho Cordova resident) and Area 7 Trustee Harold Fong (a resident of the Pocket area).

Area 4 Trustee Victoria L. Deane (a Citrus Heights resident) was sworn in for her third term of office. John C. Scribner (a resident of the Valley Hi area) was also sworn in for his third term of office as Area 6 Trustee. He was presented with a plaque in appreciation of his service as 1999-2000 Board President.