Skip to Main Content

Board Welcomes New Trustee: Mariana Corona Sabeniano

New Officers Elected for 2022–23

County Board of Education meeting

The Sacramento County Board of Education elected Paul Keefer as President and Heather Davis as Vice President. The offices are held for one year.

The Sacramento County Board of Education welcomes Mariana Corona Sabeniano, the newly elected trustee for Area 2. The trustee took the oath of office on July 6 at the Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE). Corona Sabeniano serves as Chief of Staff for Senator Monique Limón. She has a Bachelor of Arts from CSU Sacramento and a Master of Science from McGeorge School of Law.

At this evening’s Board meeting, incumbent trustees Paul A. Keefer, Ed.D., MBA (Area 3), and Bina Lefkovitz (Area 1) were sworn into office. Both were re-elected for four-year terms ending in 2026.

New officers were also elected during the meeting. The Board elected Paul Keefer as Board President. Heather Davis (Area 6 Trustee), was elected Board Vice President.

About the County Board of Education

The Sacramento County Board of Education derives its authority from the State Constitution (Article IX § 3.3) and the laws of the State of California. The County Board consists of seven elected members, each serving four-year terms. The Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools serves as secretary to the Board of Education. In addition to conducting its regular business, other Board responsibilities include hearing student expulsion appeals and interdistrict transfer appeals.

Monique Limón and Mariana Corona Sabeniano

Mariana Corona Sabeniano (right) was sworn in by Senator Limón on July 6.

Dave Gordon, Bina Lefkovitz, and Paul Keefer

Incumbent trustees Paul Keefer (right) and Bina Lefkovitz (on-screen via video conference) were sworn in by Superintendent Gordon.