Skip to Main Content

SCOE 2023 Teacher of the Year Nominees Honored

Teachers Vie to Represent SCOE at County Level

Grid of teachers during online video ceremony

SCOE Teachers of the Year nominees were recognized during an online reception and given information about the competition.

The Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) hosted a reception today to honor its teachers who had been nominated as candidates for the 2023 SCOE Teacher of the Year. The nominees represent the diversity of educational services provided by SCOE, ranging from programs for children with severe disabilities to intervention programs for youth. Many of the administrators, colleagues, parents of students, and fellow staff members who nominated the teachers joined the online celebration.

Nominees got an overview of the process and were encouraged to move forward in the competition—requiring written essays and a formal interview. SCOE will announce its Teacher of the Year selection in late April.

SCOE 2023 Teacher of the Year Nominees

  • Tamara Allen (Infant Development Program, Hiram W. Johnson High School)
  • Jamie Crum (Infant Development Program, Starr King School—Ralph Richardson Center)
  • Terri Edinburgh (Foundations Academy, Prairie Elementary School—West Campus)
  • Kevin Jordan (Special Education, Leo A. Palmiter Jr./Sr. High School)
  • Bonita Keisler (Foundations Academy, McCaffrey Middle School)
  • Pedro Marquez (CARE Intervention Program, Center High School)
  • Julie Wilde (Juvenile Court Schools, El Centro Jr./Sr. High School)

Sacramento County Teachers of the Year Program

SCOE’s Teacher of the Year—along with teachers selected by all public school districts within Sacramento County and local charter schools—is invited each year to participate in the countywide Sacramento County Teachers of the Year Program. The program is coordinated by SCOE to recognize the achievements of local educators and to raise awareness of the valuable role that teachers play in the lives of their students and in the community.

At a recognition event planned for this August, two teachers will be identified as the Sacramento County Teachers of the Year and will be eligible to participate in the statewide competition.