Skip to Main Content

Local Schools Named 2020 California Distinguished Schools

CDE Recognizes Outstanding Programs and Practices

California Distinguished School logo

Six Sacramento County elementary schools are being honored as 2020 California Distinguished Schools by the California Department of Education (CDE). The program, sponsored by CDE and presented by California Casualty, recognizes outstanding education programs and practices. Schools are awarded for closing the achievement gap and for achieving exceptional student performance.

“We are proud to have so many Sacramento County schools recognized with this honor,” said David W. Gordon, Sacramento County Superintendent of Schools. “This recognition is a strong indication of the exemplary parent and community involvement, academic achievement, and commitment of teachers and school staff in Sacramento County.”

Local 2020 California Distinguished Schools

The Sacramento County schools being honored are:

  • Arthur C. Butler Elementary (Elk Grove Unified)
  • Camellia Basic Elementary (Sacramento City Unified)
  • Hazel Strauch Elementary (Twin Rivers Unified)
  • James A. McKee Elementary (Elk Grove Unified)
  • River Oaks Elementary (Galt Joint Union Elementary)
  • Russell Ranch Elementary (Folsom Cordova Unified)

A total of 323 schools will receive the 2020 California Distinguished Schools Award.

“These outstanding schools don’t just educate students; they also provide the young people of California the tools they need to be successful after graduation,” State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Tony Thurmond, said. “Thanks go to all the staff at these schools—teachers, administrators, classified employees—and parents, who are working together to provide high-quality educational experiences for all of their students.”

California Distinguished Schools Program

A component of the California School Recognition Program, the Distinguished Schools Program recognizes schools based on performance and progress on the state indicators as specified on the California School Dashboard. Indicators include test scores, suspension rates, and conditions/climate. Elementary schools and middle and high schools are recognized in alternate years; therefore, awardees hold the title for two years.

Every year, two of California’s Distinguished Schools Awardees are also eligible to be recognized as a National Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA) Distinguished Schools Awardee.