Skip to Main Content

High School Journalism Network Holds 2019 Awards Dinner

SCOE Hosts Student Writers

Students posing with teacher holding plaque

SCOE teacher Daniel Watts and Gerber Jr./Sr. High students Carlos A. and Dillon C. received the Power of Persistence Award from SHSJN for their work with the Sac County Breeze student newspaper project.

Students were honored last night as the Sacramento High School Journalism Network (SHSJN) held its annual awards dinner at the Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) Conference Center.

SHSJN is a project of the California Scholastic Journalism Initiative, in collaboration with The Sacramento Bee and SCOE. The program for regional high school students was started with funding from former newspaper publisher Rowland “Reb” Rebele, a First Amendment advocate and philanthropist.

Students write stories for the Sac County Breeze newspaper, which are then reviewed by a team of writing coaches. Professional journalists serve as mentors and support the students in the classroom. SHSJN also provides monitoring for the teachers, free curriculum materials, and access to scholastic journalism resources. Student journalists have been honored each year since 2012.

Sacramento High School Journalism Network Participants

  • C.K. McClatchy High School (Sacramento City USD)
  • Davis High School (Davis Joint USD)
  • Elinor L. Hickey Jr./Sr. High (Sacramento County Office of Education)
  • Foothill High School (Twin Rivers USD)
  • Gerber Jr./Sr. High School (Sacramento County Office of Education)
  • Hiram Johnson High School (Sacramento City USD)
  • John F. Kennedy High School (Sacramento City USD)
  • Kit Carson International Baccalaureate Candidate School (Sacramento City USD)
  • Rio Americano High School (San Juan USD)
  • River City High School (Washington USD)

Marcos Breton speaking

Sacramento Bee columnist Marcos Breton was the keynote speaker at the awards dinner.

Group of smiling students holding plaque