Skip to Main Content

Communications Office Wins Awards for 2016–17 Projects

SCOE Communications Director Named Communicator of the Year

Manny Rubio, Tim Herrera, and Tom DeLapp
SCOE Communications Director Tim Herrera (center) receives the CalSPRA 2017–18 Communicator of the Year award from CalSPRA President Manny Rubio and National School Public Relations Association President Tom DeLapp.

The California School Public Relations Association (CalSPRA) honored the Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) Communications Office with four statewide awards on March 3 at its annual conference in San Diego. The SCOE Communications Office received awards for the following projects:

  • 2017 Sacramento County Teachers of the Year Program (Special Events Category)
  • “OIC Now” Arts Institute Program (General Publications/Collateral Materials Category)
  • “Students Need Workplace Training to Fill Workforce Needs” (Feature/Editorial Writing Category)
  • WorkAbility/Transition Partnership Video (Multimedia/Visual Communication Category)

In addition, SCOE Communications Director Tim Herrera was named CalSPRA’s 2017–18 Communicator of the Year. The award acknowledges Herrera’s work in school communications and public relations since joining SCOE in 2005.

About CalSPRA

CalSPRA is a nationally recognized leader in school communications. Its annual Excellence in Communication Awards recognize superior achievement in meeting strategic goals through high-quality communications and public relations programs. Projects from the 2017–18 fiscal year (July–June) were strictly evaluated by communication professionals on demanding criteria.

About the SCOE Communications Office

The SCOE Communications Office provides communication services to support SCOE’s programs and services. It assists school districts in Sacramento County with strategic communications and media outreach, and serves as a key disseminator of information to educators and community leaders countywide.

Communications Office staff members include Tim Herrera, Director; Trisha Odin, Program Analyst; Melanie Slootweg, Program Manager; Charlene VanAllen, Communications Manager; and John Woodward, Multimedia Design Specialist.