Skip to Main Content

SCOE Honors Its Teachers of the Year 2013 Nominees

Seven Teachers Nominated for Recognition

Nominees posing

Nominees for 2013 SCOE Teac​her of the Year were honored at the March 28 reception.

The Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) hosted a special reception on March 28 to honor those County Office teachers who have been nominated as the 2013 SCOE Teacher of the Year.

The teachers nominated for this prestigious honor represent the wide range of educational services provided by SCOE, ranging from programs for infants born with severe disabilities to instructional programs for at-risk youth, as well as programs for students receiving environmental education. Also joining the festivities were the administrators and colleagues who made the nominations.

2013 SCOE Teacher of the Year Nominees

  • Craig Bradford (Alternative Education, North Area Community School)
  • Marsha Cornwell (Special Day Class, Wilson C. Riles Middle School)
  • Terri Edinburgh (Special Day Class, Prairie Elementary School—West Campus)
  • Monica Hodges (Sly Park Environmental Education Center)
  • Kevin Jordan (Landscaping/Horticulture Careers, Leo A. Palmiter Jr./Sr. High School)
  • Melanie Lee (Special Day Class/Independent Living Skills, Galt High School)
  • Stephen Turner (Sly Park Environmental Education Center)

SCOE will announce its 2013 Teacher of the Year this May. The 2013 Sacramento County Teachers of the Year will be announced at a recognition banquet on August 15.

The Teachers of the Year Program is coordinated annually by SCOE to recognize the achievements of local educators and to raise awareness of the valuable role that teachers play in the lives of their students and in the community. At the awards recognition dinner, two teachers will be identified as the Sacramento County Teachers of the Year and will be eligible to participate in the statewide competition.

Business partners supporting the Sacramento County Teachers of the Year program are Maloof Sports and Entertainment, the Sacramento River Cats, the Sacramento Scottish Rite Bodies of Freemasonry, the Intel Corporation Folsom, and U.S. Bank.

Information about the program is available online or by calling (916) 228-2417.

Daniel Watts speaking

Daniel Watts was among several past SCOE Teachers of the Ye​ar who described the process to this year's nominees.

Elinor Brown, Kevin Jordan, and Greg Geeting

Board members Eleanor Brown and Greg Geeting, shown with SCOE Teacher of the Year 2013 nominee Kevin Jordan, presented certificates to the nominees.