Sacramento High School Journalism Network 2018 Award Winners

Journalist of the Year

Camryn Dadey (Laguna Creek High School)

Outstanding Student Newspaper Editors

Alyssa Perez (C.K. McClatchy H.S)

Maggie Tully (C.K. McClatchy H.S)

Molly Burke (Davis Senior H.S)

Alison Watkins (Foothill H.S)

Alecia Castillo (Gerber Jr./Sr. H.S)

Cherelle Whitfield (Gerber Jr./Sr. H.S)

Malik Moore Smith (Hiram Johnson H.S)

Christopher Wong (John F. Kennedy H.S)

Carrie Vue (Kit Carson International Academy)

Camryn Dadey (Laguna Creek H.S)

Kaitlyn Shellooe (Rio Americano H.S)

Jescherie Pascua Arela (River City H.S)

Best Graphic Art/Design

Alison Watkins (Foothill H.S) – 1st Place

Sarif Morningstar (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 2nd Place

Alecia Castillo (Gerber Jr./Sr. H.S) - 3rd Place

Jianna Beasley (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 3rd Place

Best Editorial Art/Cartoon

Diego Alvarez-Machado (C.K. McClatchy H.S) – 1st Place

Nabeelah Tran (River City H.S) – 2nd Place

Brandan Wong (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 3rd Place

Best News Writing

Adam Pacheco (C.K. McClatchy H.S) - 1st Place

Annie Mitchell (Davis Senior H.S) – 2nd Place

Camryn Dadey (Laguna Creek H.S) – 3rd Place

Dominc J. Larsen (John F. Kennedy H.S) - 4th Place

Best Feature Writing

Breana Lee (Davis Senior H.S) - 1st Place

Christopher Wong (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 2nd Place

Saeri Plagmann (John F. Kennedy H.S) - 3rd Place

Jessica Sheppard (Rio Americano H.S) – 4th Place

Best Editorial Writing

Molly Burke (Davis Senior H.S) – 1st Place Rebecca Smith (Rio Americano H.S) – 2nd Place Camryn Dadey (Laguna Creek H.S) – 3rd Place Malik Moore Smith (Hiram Johnson H.S) – 4th Place

Best Column or Personal Opinion Writing

Christopher Wong (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 1st Place Kainoa Lowman (C.K. McClatchy H.S) – 2nd Place Alecia Castillo (Gerber Jr./Sr. H.S) – 3rd Place Carrie Vue (Kit Carson International Academy) - 3rd Place

Best Sports Writing

Meseret Carver (Davis Senior H.S) – 1^{st} Place Saeri Plagman (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 2^{nd} Place Alex Muegge (Rio Americano H.S) – 3^{rd} Place

Best Photography

Alison Watkins (Foothill H.S) – 1st Place Sarif Morningstar (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 2nd Place Makayla Smith (John F. Kennedy H.S) – 3rd Place Olivia Johnson (River City H.S) – 4th Place