Skip to Main Content

Release: County Teachers of the Year 2024 Announced

Elk Grove USD and Natomas USD Advance to State Competition

SCOE Press Release

Contact: Xanthi Soriano, Executive Director, Communications
Phone: (279) 789-1601 • Email:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Monday, August 28, 2023


Sacramento, CA—A fourth-grade teacher and a middle/high school History and Social Studies teacher are the two Sacramento County Teachers of the Year 2024. The Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) revealed the winners Friday evening at its countywide teacher recognition ceremony.

Jamie Davis is a 4th grade teacher at Union House Elementary School (Elk Grove Unified School District). Donja Harding Is a History and Social Studies for 6th–12th grades at Leroy Greene Academy (Natomas Unified School District). Both teachers advance to the statewide competition where five teachers will be chosen as California Teachers of the Year.

After the names of the two winners were revealed at the dinner, Sacramento County Board of Education President Bina Lefkovitz, presented the new County Teachers of the Year with the Elinor Lincoln Hickey Award of Merit, the highest honor bestowed by the Board. The Sacramento Scottish Rite also continued a long-running tradition of awarding perpetual trophies to the winners, which were presented by Ivan Guzman.