## SACRAMENTO COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

## California Day of the Teacher – May 10, 2017

## Resolution No. 17-07

WHEREAS, today's teachers mold the minds and train the workforce of the future; and

WHEREAS, no other profession touches as many persons with such a lasting effect; and

WHEREAS, good teaching grows in value and pays dividends far beyond the classroom; and

**WHEREAS**, many times it is the interest and attention of a favorite teacher that steers a student into a career field; and

**WHEREAS**, in addition to teaching academics, teachers provide guidance, support, and encouragement to their students; and

**WHEREAS**, California long ago recognized the immeasurable value of our teachers and has designated the second Wednesday in May to be Day of the Teacher, a special observance that honors teachers and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Day of the Teacher has been sponsored by the California Teachers Association, the Parent Teacher Association, the California Federation of Teachers, the Association of California School Administrators, the California School Boards Association, the California Association of School Business Officials, and School Services of California, with the Association of Mexican-American Educators as the first sponsor of Day of the Teacher in 1982; and

**WHEREAS**, Day of the Teacher should be a day for local education agencies; parents, guardians, caregivers, public officials, and the community to recognize the dedication and commitment of teachers who are educating our children; and

**WHEREAS**, the Sacramento County Board of Education is extremely proud of the many exemplary teachers who serve the students in Sacramento County Office of Education programs.

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** that the Sacramento County Board of Education proclaims May 10, 2017 as California Day of the Teacher.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** by the Sacramento County Board of Education at its regular Board meeting on the 2<sup>nd</sup> day of May 2017 by the following vote:

AYES			
NOES			
ABSENT			
ABSTAIN			
Jacquelyn Leyy, Board President		David W. Gordon, Board Secretary	