Capitol Area Regional Technical Assistance Center

Chart showing some of the essentials for Community School Transformation

Students thrive when students and families are at the center of a supportive learning environment.
Source: Community Schools Forward (2023).


A community school is a type of school that focuses on the well-being of students as a whole. It involves collaboration between the school, teachers, students, and families, as well as community agencies and local governments. The goal is to improve student outcomes by combining academics with health services, social support, youth development, and community involvement.

In California, the Department of Education is implementing the California Community Schools Partnership Program (CCSPP) to address educational disparities. The Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) and Placer County Office of Education (PCOE) are leading the Capitol Area Regional Technical Assistance Center (R-TAC) for the program, which includes twelve county offices of education: Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San Joaquin, Sierra, Solano, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba.

In collaboration with three non-profit organizations, the Capitol Area RTAC is developing high-quality professional learning and technical assistance to support community schools in the region:

These organizations will provide customized assistance and partnerships through consultation, training, coaching, and capacity building to improve educational systems at the county, district, and school levels.

What is a Community School?

A community school is a place where students and families are at the center of a supportive learning environment. The school focuses on transforming its teaching methods and systems, creating meaningful connections with families and community partners, and fostering inclusivity and a sense of belonging. The goal is to inspire higher achievement and positive youth development.

Please note that these community schools differ from the Community School alternative education program for students who have been expelled or referred by Sacramento County Probation.

Capitol Area R-TAC Vision

The vision for the Capital Area RTAC is for schools in the region to embrace the community school approach as a way to improve their teaching and learning practices and create schools where students, families, and community partners are meaningfully connected. By leveraging the California Community Schools Partnership Program, schools across the region will make a positive impact in the communities they serve.

 R-TAC Team


Capitol Area R-TAC Learning Opportunities 

Event Listings


Community School Resources & Tools

These are case studies of schools with practices that align with Community Schools

Family Engagement Resources

Whole-Child Design Resources

Capitol Area R-TAC County Office Points of Contact

County Person Title Email
Alpine Jamie Phillips Director of Innovation and Student Services

Colusa Jennifer Wayman Director of Student Support and Outreach

El Dorado Melissa Kistler Director of District and Program Support

Nevada Sarah Morgan Community School Coordinator

Placer Janine Hughes Coordinator, Community Schools and Integrated Supports

Placer Marlon Gayle Coordinator, Community Schools, and Academic Supports

Sacramento Navdeep Purewal Director, Community School Initiatives
San Joaquin Bri Carroll Director, Continuous Improvement and Support
Sierra James Berardi County Superintendent and Downieville Principal

Solano Jas Bains Wright Coordinator, Community Schools Partnerships and Initiatives

Sutter Kristi Johnson  Senior Director, Educational Services

Yolo Gayelynn Gerhart Director, Special Projects

Yuba Nina Martinez Director, Community School