About Expanded Learning


Capital Service Region (Region 3) map

The Capital Service Region (Region 3) is comprised of 10 counties: Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba.

The Sacramento County Office of Education (SCOE) Expanded Learning Programs Office provides technical assistance, professional development, coaching, mentoring, brokering, and leveraging of resources for the Capital Service Region (Region 3). The region is comprised of 10 counties: Alpine, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba.

Services align with the California Expanded Learning Quality Standards and support the K–12 System of Support in educating “the whole child.”


Expanded learning programs are funded by After School Education and Safety (ASES) and 21st Century Community Learning Centers (CCLC) grants through the Expanded Learning Division of the California Department of Education (CDE).

The Expanded Learning Opportunities Program (ELO-P), authorized by Assembly Bill 130, also provides funding for before-school, after-school, intersession, and summer school enrichment programs for transitional kindergarten through sixth grade.

STEAM Explorers

SCOE offers a regional collaborative learning community designed to inspire staff to lead innovative and authentic STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and math) learning that ignites student imagination and passion, helping them decode challenges and thrive. Expanded Learning practitioners across the region are able to explore meaningful ways to incorporate STEAM lessons that are aligned with California’s six Point of Service Quality Standards. The regional STEAM Explorers program is influenced by California’s System of Support for Expanded Learning STEAM Hub initiative.