Your browser does not support JavaScript!
Sacramento County Office of Education Sacramento County Office of Education

California English Language Development (ELD) Standards

​Curriculum/Instruction and Research

Primary Contact​

Jan Mayer, Curriculum Specialist
(916) 228-2619

Per Assembly Bill 124, the California Department of Education (CDE) was required to update, revise, and align the state's 1999 English Language Development (ELD) standards to California's Common Core State Standards (CCSS) for English Language Arts (ELA) that were adopted by the State Board of Education in August 2010. The State Board of Education adopted the updated California ELD standards on November 7, 2012.

Some key features of the 2012 ELD standards include:

  • a set of ELD standards for each grade level, Kindergarten through grade 8, and for the high school grade spans 9-10 and 11-12;
  • correspondence to CCSS ELA standards noted for each ELD standard ;
  • three English language proficiency levels: Emerging, Expanding, and Bridging;
  • standards organized into three language modes: collaborative, interpretative and productive, and three categories under the heading learning about how English works: structuring cohesive texts, expanding and enriching ideas, and connecting and condensing ideas.

SCOE offers professional development related to the California ELD Standards. Visit the Professional Development Opportunities Catalog to find applicable courses.

↩︎ Return to Programs & Services listing.